SHRM Chapter Recognized for Excellence

SHRM Officers 2011-2012
From left to right: Cheryl Strenger, Rachel Mann, Jessica Schubach, Amy Peteritis,
Megan Ginter, Rebecca Davis, Caitlin Guindon
Missing: Karen Strychowski, Lisa Wimer, Amanda Snyder

Shippensburg University’s student chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) has earned a Superior Merit Award from the national organization as recognition of its excellence and achievement during the 2011-2012 year.

It is the fourth consecutive year the chapter has earned this prestigious award and the chapter will be recognized at the 2012 Annual Student Conference in Atlanta June 23.

Dr. John G. Kooti, dean of the John L. Grove College of Business, said, “Chapter officers and members participated in and coordinated a variety of professional development activities throughout the year which enabled the chapter to achieve the SHRM Superior Merit award. We congratulate our students and their chapter adviser, Dr. Vicki Taylor, for this significant achievement.”

According to information on SHRM’s website, the award recognizes student chapters of SHRM for their exceptional ability in operations, the professional development of chapter members, promotion of the profession and support of SHRM.

SHRM, according to its website, is the world’s largest association devoted to human resource management with more than 250,000 professional and student members in more than 140 countries. Founded in 1948, SHRM has more than 575 affiliated professional chapters and more than 450 student chapters within the United States as well as subsidiary offices in China and India.