News and Events


SU's student environmental club continues its tradition of community service with frequent clean-up trips to Richard Ave. See the environmental club's YouTube video highlighting a recent clean up project. The club has also started a Facebook group.

Shippensburg University's dining halls have gone trayless. No trays means students eat less and waste less. Director of dining services Nick Iula estimates that waste has been reduced by 2,500 pounds per week. No trays also means less dish washing, so less water and energy are used. Check out the Dining Services sustainability page for more information about this and other eco-friendly programs. Also, check out the feature on WHAG TV and in The Record Herald.

Shippensburg is the first university in the State System to complete a greenhouse gas inventory. Completed in February 2010 by the Sightlines facilities advisory firm, the analysis found that 42% of SU's carbon emissions come from on-campus stationary sources (primarily the coal plant), 32% are linked to electricity consumption, and 15% come from commuting. See the summary on the Facilities Management and Planning website.
Sighlines GHG report

Culbertson Photo

CulbertsonCeramics Image
The first load of finished ceramic work fired in Prof. Culbertson's biodiesel kiln.

Since 2006, Professor Ben Culbertson (Art Department) has been collecting all of the waste vegetable oil on campus and making biodiesel. He has hand fabricated a set of collection containers that are in use at every dining facility on campus. In 2010, Professor Culbertson embarked on a project with several ceramics students to design, build and test a biodiesel-fueled burner system to fire ceramics kilns. To date, they have successfully built and fired a 30 cubic foot kiln to 2,350 degrees F using biodiesel. The work of Professor Culbertson is saving money for Chartwells, SU's food service vendor, saving energy, and reducing SU's carbon footprint.

News Archives:

Please send news items to Dr. Heather Sahli.


Dr.Viet Dao 
faculty co-chair

Tara Kennedy 
student co-chair