Shippensburg faculty accomplishments 4.1.13

Following is a list of presentations, awards, honors and other achievements by or to Shippensburg University faculty. If you need further information, please send an e-mail to

  • Dr. Wendy S. Becker, associate professor of management, and undergraduate psychology student Nicole F. Campana presented the poster “Revisiting the Historic Staff Ride for Understanding Situated Action” at the 84th Annual Meeting of the Eastern Psychological Association in New York City March 2.
  • Dr. Kelly M. Carrero, assistant professor of special education, was awarded the opportunity to participate in the “Beginning Career Workshop” at the annual Council for Exceptional Children conference in San Antonio, Texas, April 4 to 6. The competition to participate in this workshop was hosted by the Division for Research. Carrero was one of 20 applicants chosen to participate in this workshop. Leading researchers in the field of special education will serve as panelists and advisers to promising new tenure-track special education faculty on how to secure external funding, publish, and manage ambitious research agendas.
  • Dr. Robert L. Hale, professor of psychology, supervised students who were involved in presentations at the 84th Annual Meeting of the Eastern Psychological Association in New York City March 1 to 4. Steven Yurkonis, with Michael Smith co-author, presented “Performance on two types of the Wason by Manipulative Personality Types” March 2. Stephanie Sema, with James Evans co-author, presented “An Evolutionary Approach to Shunning Behavior” March 3. In addition to co-authoring the studies, Hale also served as a judge of Psi Chi student presentations during a poster competition March 2.
  • Dr. Annie Papero, assistant professor of teacher education, and Konnie Serr, assistant professor of teacher education, had their grant “Building Across the Curriculum: An exploration of the cross-curricular uses that emerge when Kindergarten through 5th grade classroom communities are provided with an open-ended set of Unit Blocks” funded by the International Association of Laboratory and University Schools’ “Mini-grant for research” program. The money will be used to purchase a full set of unit blocks for each classroom at Grace B. Luhrs University Elementary School.
  • Dr. Jennifer Yongmei Pomeroy, adjunct professor of geography-earth science and faculty academic adviser in the Office of Undeclared Students, had her paper “Analyzing Municipal Annexations: Case Studies in Frederick and Caroline Counties of Maryland, 1990-2010” selected for the final round of J. Warren Nystrom Award competition. The award, established by the Association of American Geographers (AAG) and named for former AAG Executive Director J. Warren Nystrom, recognizes outstanding recent dissertations in geography. As part of the competition, her paper will be presented at the annual AAG meeting in Los Angeles in April.
  • Dr. Freddy Siahaan, assistant professor of economics, co-authored a paper with Noret Flood, economics major and honors program student, titled “Supply and Effect of Aid: Advancing Donors Agenda or Assisting Recipients?” Flood presented it March 1 at the 20th Annual Issues in Political Economy­—Undergraduate Student Research in Economics in Boston.
  • Dr. Praveen Veerabhadrappa, assistant professor of exercise science, co-authored the manuscript “Endothelial activation microparticles and inflammation status improve with exercise training in African Americans” that was accepted for publication in the International Journal of Hypertension.