Department Information

Listed below are the faculty members most likely to teach each course offered as a part of the Technical/Professional Communications Minor.

Art Department:
Prof. Will Whitely

ART 217 Computer Design I: Page Composition
ART 319 Computer Design III: Painting and Photo Manipulation
ART 425 Computer Design VI: Book and Portfolio Design

ART 306 Computer Design II: Illustration
ART 425 Computer Design IV: Multimedia
ART 435 Computer Design V: Web Design

College of Business:

ISM 142 Business Computer Systems

Communication/Journalism Department:
Dr. Mike Drager, Dr. Joe Borrell, Dr. Carrie Sipes

COM 112 Media Writing
COM 224 Electronic Media Writing
COM 285 News Writing and Reporting
COM 290 Advertising Copy Writing
COM 425 Feature Writing

Computer Science Department:

CSC 103 Overview of Computer Science
CSC 110 Computer Science I
CSC 434 Web Programming

English Department:
Dr. Carla Kungl, Dr. Kim van Alkemade, Dr. Laurie Cella

ENG 238 Technical/Professional Writing II
ENG 438 Technical/Professional Writing II
ENG 323 Reviewing the Arts for Publication

Human Communication Studies Department:
Dr. Matt Ramsey

HCS 350 Theories of Organizational Communication

History/Philosophy Department:
Dr. Doug Birsch

PHL 240 Ethical Issues and the Media
PHL 332 Ethical Issues and Computer Technology


Spring 2016 EAPSU Undergraduate Conference:

Against the Current

Calling anyone who feels like making some noise! This year the EAPSU Undergraduate Conference is looking for writers, poets, ANYONE who likes to challenge the status quo...beg for more answers...and go against the current. Please click this link for more information:

If you are interested in presenting or just going to the conference please email Dr. Kungl ( or Alexandra Jones, her assistant, ( This conference is a wonderful opportunity to network, put your work out there, and just have fun! This conference can teach you so much no matter what major or minor you have.

  • Submission deadline for proposals is February 19, 2016.
  • The actual conference is being held in the Alumni Hall at Mansfield University on April 1, 2016 from 8:30am until 4:30pm.
  • If you arrive on March 31, 2016 there will be an open-mic night open to all faculty and undergraduate conference participants hosted by the EAPSU keynote speaker Cameron Conaway ( Conaway is a true example of what it means to go against the current. The open-mic night will be from 7pm until 9pm in The Hut (located on Mansfield campus).
  •  There is preference for SU students who are accepted to present at the conference to be funded by the Technical/Professional Communications (T/PC) department. If you are funded by the T/PC department that means your $25.00 registration fee is covered and overnight accommodations.* However, this all still applies for students who just simply want to go but not present -- as stated ealier preference is for you to present!

Please keep checking in here for updates about the conference.

*Room accommodations can only be made if a certain amount of students go on the trip.


Carla T. Kungl
Associate Professor, English
Director, Technical/Professional
Communications Minor
1871 Old Main Dr.
Shippensburg, PA  17257

English Department:
Dauphin Humanities 007

Office of Professional
Writing: Wright Hall 210
Fall  2015 Hours: Monday 1:00 - 2:00; Wednesday 11 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.