

New Faculty Orientation Schedule for August 10 and 11, 2020

Theme: Building a Sense of Belonging

Monday, August 10, 2020

Time	Location	Торіс	Presenter and Title
8:00-8:45	Faculty Dining	Registration and	*Individual Photos of New Faculty
	Room in	Individual Photos	New Tenure Track Faculty
(The building	Reisner Dining		New Full-Time One Year Only Temporary Faculty
will open at 7:45)	Hall	(Light	New Part-Time One Semester Only Temporary Faculty
7.45)		Refreshments)	
0.00 0.05	- I - D' -		*Dress is Business Casual
9:00 - 9:25	Faculty Dining	Introduction of Tenure Track and	Laurie A. Carter, J.D. Shippensburg University President Dr. Tom Ormond, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
	Room in	Full-Time One Year	Dr. Kara Laskowski , President of SU Association of Pennsylvania State College
	Reisner Dining	Only Temporary	and University Faculties (APSCUF) and Professor and Chair, Department of
	Hall	Faculty	Human Communication Studies
		racuity	Dr. Lynn Baynum , Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
			(CETL) and Associate Professor of Teacher Education
9:30 - 10:30	Lehman Library	Getting Connected	Dr. Amy Diehl, Associate Vice President & Chief Information Technology Officer
	Room 205	to Technology at SU	Mr. Ravi Anne, Director of Campus Information Systems
			Mr. Greg Day, Director of Network, Telecommunications & Infrastructure
			Mr. Jamie Rhine, Director of Technology Support Services
			*please bring personal laptop for hands on experience
			please bring personal raptop for hands on experience
10:30 - 11:30	Lehman Library	*Basic Brightspace	Dr. Justin Sentz, Deputy Chief Information Technology Officer & Executive
	Room 205	Training and Smart	Director of Academic Technology and User Services
		Cart Overview	Mr. Scott Gallagher Instructional Technology Specialist, Academic Technology
			and User Services
			*Please contact Dr Lynn Baynum or Mr. Scott Gallagher for additional training.
			**please bring personal laptop for hands on experience
11:30-12:30	Faculty Dining	Lunch	Lunch- meal tickets provided
	Room/Reisner	-	
	Dining Hall		

12:45 – 3:15	Lehman Library Room 205	Course Level Student Support	Dr. Lynn Baynum Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education Taking attendance, identifying issues, monitoring students' progress Syllabi language
		1:15 – 1:40	Ms. Josephine Smith, Assistant Professor, Library Services
		1:40 - 2:00	Ms. Shelbie D'Annibale, Director, Office of Accessibility Resources
		2:00 - 2:20	Mr. Doug Dieuveuil, Coordinator, Early Alert and Retention
		2:30 - 2:50	Dr. Rich Zumkhwala- Cook , Professor of English, NCAA Faculty-Athletic Rep (FAR And Ms. Chartice Wyatt-Thermil , Director of the Kathryn Hughes Seaber Raiders Academic Center for Student Athletes, (RAC)
		2:50 – 3:15	Dr. Christopher Carlton, Assistant Professor of the Counseling Center Understanding Signs of Student Stress
3:30 – 4:00	Lehman Library Room 205	Office of Equity, Inclusion, and Compliance/Title IX	Professor Stephanie Jirard, Chief, Equity, Inclusion & Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator Mr. Marcus Foster, Title IX Investigator and Prevention Specialist

Tuesday, August 11, 2020

8:00-10:00	Lehman Library Room 205	APSCUF Welcome and Overview	APSCUF SU Welcome/Introductions and Organizational Structure: Dr. Kara Laskowski, APSCUF President and Professor and Chair, Department of
	100111205		Human Communication Studies
			Mr. Aaron Dobbs, APSCUF Vice President and Professor and Chair, Library Services
			Ms. Diana Worden, Office Manager for APSCUF -SU
			*has online components, please bring a laptop with you to be able to log in
10:15- 10:45	Lehman Library Room 205	Human Resources	Ms. Belinda Johnson, Payroll Manager
			Please Schedule meetings with Ms. Nipa Browder, Assistant Director of Human
			<i>Resources and Benefits Manager</i> , for completion of HR Benefits, or Ms. Diana Worden , <i>APSCUF Office Manager</i> , for completion of Health and Welfare Benefits dental and
			vision.
10:45-11:15	Lehman Library		Q&A
	Room 205		
11:30-12:30	Faculty Dining	Lunch tickets	First Year: Fostering Success
	Room/Reisner Dining Hall		Dr. Lynn Baynum, Director of CETL and Associate Professor of Teacher Education
12:45 - 3:00	Lehman Library Room 205	Pedagogy Institute	Intro to SSC: Using Tools and Resources to Help Students be Successful
	100111205	12:45 – 1:15	Using the SSC Navigate Campus Platform
			Dr. Michael Levinstein, Assistant Professor of Academic Engagement and Exploratory Studies
		1:15 - 1:45	Making Your Classroom a Learning Environment
			Dr. Sara Grove, Professor of Political Science
		2:00 - 2:30	Student Ownership in Learning
			Dr. Laurie Cella, Professor of English
		2:30 - 3:00	Civility and Inclusion in the Classroom
			Dr. Matt Shupp, Associate Professor of Counseling
			and College Student Personnel
3:15	Reed Operations		Please register for your parking permit at <u>https://parking.ship.edu/</u> prior to visiting
	Center (ROC)		the KUC.
3:15	Reed Operations Center (ROC)		Please register for your parking permit at <u>https://parking.ship.edu/</u> prior the ROC.

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

(Please contact your Department Chair as Wednesday's agenda may change)

8:30 - 9:30	Location to be Announced by Departments	Department Meetings for All Faculty	Department Chairs
10:00 - 11:30	Virtually – details to be announced	University General Meeting for All Faculty and Staff	Laurie A. Carter, J.D. Shippensburg University President Dr. Tom Ormond, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Kara Laskowski, APSCUF SU President and Professor and Chair, Department of Human Communication Studies SU Senior Leadership

WELCOME to SHIPPENSBURG UNIVERSITY