History/Philosophy Department 

Faculty and Staff - Spring 2016

Dr. Douglas Birsch 
Ethics, Applied Ethics
Horton Hall 311
(717) 477-1734
drbirs@ship.edu

 

 Dr. John Bloom (Director of Graduate Studies / Graduate Internship Director)
American Culture, Pennsylvania, and Public History
Wright Hall 335
(717) 477-1216
jdbloo@ship.edu

 

burg

 Steven Burg (Department Chair/Advisor to Public History Concentration)
Public History, Community History, Historic Preservation, 20th Century Social and Political Movements,  U.S. Women's History, History of Disease and Public Health 
Dauphin Humanities Center 124
(717) 477-1189
sbburg@ship.edu

 

Catherine Clay

 Dr. Catherine B. Clay
Russia and Eastern Europe, Central Asia, Comparative History
Dauphin Humanities Center 203
(717) 477-1728
cbclay@ship.edu

 

Dr. Betty Dessants 
U.S. Foreign Relations, 20th-Century U.S., Teaching Methods
Dauphin Humanities Center 213
(717) 477-1263
badess@ship.edu

 

Allen Dieterich-Ward

 Dr. Allen Dieterich-Ward (Undergraduate Internship Director)
U.S. History, Environmental History and Public Policy
Dauphin Humanities Center 217
(717) 477-1192
 ajdieterichward@ship.edu

 

Dr. James Edwards 
History of Philosophy
Wright Hall 235
(717) 477-1002
jgedwa@ship.edu

  

Dr. David F. Godshalk 
African American, Social, U.S. South
Wright Hall 336
(717) 477-1132
dfgods@ship.edu

Justus Hartzok
 Dr. Justus Hartzok
Russia, Soviet Union
Wright Hall 221
(717) 477-1249
jghartzok@ship.edu

 

Dr. Kim Klein (Honors Director)
Colonial America, Revolutionary America, Canada
President's Hall 006
(717) 477-3790
kmklei@ship.edu
 Dr. Chandrika Paul
South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Modern British History
Dauphin Humanities Center 209
(717) 477-1264
chpaul@ship.edu

 

Dr. Pierce 
Dr. Gretchen K. Pierce
Latin America, Mexico, Comparative Revolutions, Temperance, and Gender
Dauphin Humanities Center 214
(717) 477-1729
gkpierce@ship.edu

 

 Dr. John Quist 
19th-Century U.S, U.S. Civil War Era, U.S. South
Wright Hall 334
(717) 477-1690
jwquis@ship.edu

 

 Mrs. Janice Reed (Department Secretary)
Dauphin Humanities Center 122
(717) 477-1621
jjreed@ship.edu 

 

Christine Senecal

Dr. Christine Senecal
Ancient Rome, Byzantine Empire, Medieval Europe
Wright Hall 219
(717) 477-1262
cksene@ship.edu

 

Robert Shaffer

Dr. Robert Shaffer (Sabbatical Spring 2016)
U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. Immigration and Ethnicity, 20th-Century U.S., Teaching Methods
Wright Hall 326
(717) 477-1180
roshaf@ship.edu

 

 Dr. skaff-j
Dr. Jonathan Skaff (International Studies Director)
(Sabbatical Spring 2016)
China, Japan, Inner Asia, Silk Road, Comparative Frontiers
Dauphin Humanities Center 215 / CUB 221B
(717) 477-1255 / (717) 477-1907
jkskaf@ship.edu

 

 Dr. Mark Spicka
Modern Europe, Germany, World
Wright Hall 232
(717) 477-1009
mespic@ship.edu

 

Tulchin A

 Dr. Allan Tulchin 
Early Modern France, Religious and Social History
Wright Hall 223
(717) 477-1261
aatulchin@ship.edu

Dr. Ulrich(5)

 

 Dr. Brian J. Ulrich
Middle Eastern and Islamic History, Comparative Empires
Dauphin Humanities Center 201
(717) 477-1736
bjulrich@ship.edu

 

heather

 Prof. Heather B. Wadas
Social and Cultural History
Wright Hall 333
(717) 477-3171 / (717) 477-1565
hbwada@ship.edu

 

Professor David Weaver

 David Weaver
20th Century U.S. Government, Military History
Horton Hall 330
(717) 477-1315
dsweaver@ship.edu

 

Department Fax #
(717) 477-4062
Center for Applied History Graduate Assistant
(717) 477-3165
Wright Hall 116