What's New?

      Book Signing

  The Shop is holding a book signing on a wonderful new book of essays called Duty Calls at Home: Central Pennsylvania Responds to the Great War, 1914 – 1918, Friday September 5th from 5 to 8 p.m. Join Dr. Steven Burg, chair of the Dept. of History and Philosophy, and his students Mary Lee Shade and John Maietta at 33 West High Street, Carlisle PA 17013

History  & Philosophy Semester Kick-Off Ice Cream Social

  THURSDAY September 4th; 3:30pm - 4:30pm at the DHC Fishbowl

Meet our new and returning history majors! Have an  opportunity to chat with your professors! Learn how to get involved with the History Club! Have some free ice cream! We’ll provide the ice cream and toppings, you bring your appetite.

  Sponsored by the Department of History and Philosophy, the History Club, and Phi Alpha Theta.

  • The SU History Club meets Monday night in Dauphin Humanities 205. The first meeting of the History Club will be on Monday, Sept 8th at 7:30pm in DHC 205. For more information or to get involved, contact History Club President Devon Newcomer dn9056@ship.edu

facebook

spacer image

Related Links

spacer image

History/Philosophy Department

122-124 Dauphin Humanities Center
Shippensburg University
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania 17257
 

Dr. Steven Burg, Chair 

Janice Reed, Secretary

Tel: 717-477-1621
Fax: 717-477-4062
history@ship.edu 

spacer image

History/Philosophy Department 

Faculty and Staff - Spring 2014

  Douglas Birsch 
Ethics, Applied Ethics
Horton Hall 311
(717) 477-1734
drbirs@ship.edu

 

 John Bloom (Director of Graduate Studies / Graduate Internship Director)
(On Sabbatical, Spring 2014)
American Culture, Pennsylvania and Public History
Wright Hall 335
(717) 477-1216
jdbloo@ship.edu

 

 Steven Burg (Department Chair/Advisor to Public History Concentration)
Public History, Local and Regional History, Historic Preservation, U.S. History 
Dauphin Humanities Center 124
(717) 477-1189
sbburg@ship.edu

 

 Catherine Clay
Russia and Eastern Europe, Central Asia, Comparative History
Dauphin Humanities Center 203
(717) 477-1728
cbclay@ship.edu

 

 Betty Dessants
U.S. Foreign Relations, 20th-Century U.S., Teaching Methods
Dauphin Humanities Center 213
(717) 477-1263
badess@ship.edu

 

Allen Dieterich-Ward

 Allen Dieterich-Ward (Undergraduate Internship Director)
     (On Sabbatical, Spring 2014)
     U.S. History, Environmental History and Public Policy    
Dauphin Humanities Center 217
(717) 477-1192
 ajdieterichward@ship.edu

 

 James Edwards 
History of Philosophy
Wright Hall 235
(717) 477-1002
jgedwa@ship.edu

  

David F. Godshalk 
African American, Social, U.S. South
Wright Hall 336
(717) 477-1132
dfgods@ship.edu

Brian D. Gurian
Wright Hall 333
(717) 477-1565
bdgurian@ship.edu

 

 Justus Hartzok
Russia, Soviet Union
Wright Hall 221
(717) 477-1249
jghartzok@ship.edu

 

 Kim Klein (Honors Director)
Colonial America, Revolutionary America, Canada
President's Hall 006
(717) 477-3790
kmklei@ship.edu
j-m

John P. Maietta
 Dauphin Humanities Center 211
 jpmaietta@ship.edu
 (717) 477-1265

 Rob Malick
Horton Hall 304
(717) 477-1727
rwmalick@ship.edu

 

 Chandrika Paul
South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Modern British History
Dauphin Humanities Center 209
(717) 477-1264
chpaul@ship.edu

 

Dr. Pierce 
Gretchen K. Pierce
Latin America, Mexico, Comparative Revolutions, Temperance, and Gender
Dauphin Humanities Center 214
(717) 477-1729
gkpierce@ship.edu

 

 John Quist 
19th-Century U.S, U.S. Civil War Era, U.S. South
Wright Hall 334
(717) 477-1690
jwquis@ship.edu

 

 Janice Reed (Department Secretary)
Dauphin Humanities Center 122
(717) 477-1621
jjreed@ship.edu 

 

Christine Senecal

 Christine Senecal
Ancient Rome, Byzantine Empire, Medieval Europe
Wright Hall 219
(717) 477-1262
cksene@ship.edu

 

Robert Shaffer

 Robert Shaffer
U.S. Foreign Relations, U.S. Immigration and Ethnicity, 20th-Century U.S., Teaching Methods
Wright Hall 326
(717) 477-1180
roshaf@ship.edu

 

 Dr. skaff-j
Jonathan Skaff (International Studies Director)
China, Japan, Inner Asia, Silk Road, Comparative Frontiers
Dauphin Humanities Center 215 / CUB 221B
(717) 477-1255 / (717) 477-1907
jkskaf@ship.edu

 

 Mark Spicka
Modern Europe, Germany, World
Wright Hall 232
(717) 477-1009
mespic@ship.edu

 

 Allan Tulchin 
Early Modern France, Religious and Social History
Wright Hall 223
(717) 477-1261
aatulchin@ship.edu

 

 Brian J. Ulrich
Middle Eastern and Islamic History, Comparative Empires
Dauphin Humanities Center 201
(717) 477-1736
bjulrich@ship.edu

 

 Heather B. Wadas
Social and Cultural History
Wright Hall 333
(717) 477-3171 / (717) 477-1565
hbwada@ship.edu

 

 David Weaver
Horton Hall 330
(717) 477-1315
dsweaver@ship.edu

 

 Linda Witmer
Linda Witmer
Museums
 Author: The Indian Industrial School in Carlisle PA
Changing Images; The Art and Artists of the Carlisle Indian School
lfwitmer@ship.edu

 



 Department Fax #
(717) 477-4062
 
 Center for Applied History Graduate Assistant
(717) 477-3165
Wright Hall 116