Working with Groups

The Group tool is for setting up and organizing groups and allows instructors to restrict access to materials in the course on the basis of enrollment.

Creating a Group

All groups are organized by categories which help define the parameters of the group.

To create a category:

  1. From the Course Home page on the Navigation bar click on the Groups link from the Communication drop-down menu. The Manage Groups page appears.
  2. Click on the New Category button. The New Category page appears.
    WorkingWithGroups new category
  3. In the Category Name text box, type the category name.
  4. If desired, type the category description in the Description box.
  5. Next, select Enrollment Type from the Enrollment Type drop-down menu. The following chart specifies how users will be enrolled in the group:

    Enrollment Type
    Description
    # of Groups - No Auto Enrollments
    Specify the number of groups to be added, and the system will not automatically assign an equal number of students to each group.
    Groups of #
    Specify the maximum number of students per group and the system creates the appropriate number of groups to accommodate this.
    # of Groups
    Specify the number of groups to be added and the system assigns an equal number of students to each group.
    Groups of # - Self Enrollment
    Specify the maximum number of students per group and the students enroll themselves in their desired group.
    # of Groups - Self Enrollment
    Specify the number of groups to be added and the students enroll themselves in their desired group.
    # of Groups of # - Self-Enrollment
    Specify the number of groups and the number of students per group. The students enroll themselves in their desired group.

    1. In the Number of Groups/Users text box type the desired number (corresponding to the selected enrollment style) and enter Advanced Properties.
    2. In the Additional Options section, click on the Expand the additional options link.
    3. Select desired Create Workspace option(s).
      Note: It is important to set up the Discussions area and if desired, the Dropbox when you initially set up the group.
      WorkingWithGroups additional options

      Setup Discussion Areas
      Allows instructor to create a discussion area for each group. Select a Forum that has been already created using the Dropdown area or create a new forum by clicking on the New Forum button.
      WorkingWithGroups create restricted

      Setup Dropbox
      Allows instructor to setup a dropbox folder for each group (refer to Instructions for Setting up a Dropbox).

      Setup Locker [Not recommended; only holds 1MB of storage space]
      Allows instructor to setup a locker area for each group.

    4. Click on the Create button.
    5. When finished, a Workspace Summary screen will appear to show exactly what was created.
      WorkingWithGroups workplace summary

Creating Additional Groups

The instructor may need to add extra groups after the initial group setup process:

  1. Click the drop-down menu next to the category where the new group belongs and select the Add Group option. The Add Group dialog box appears.
  2. Type the new group's name in the Group Name text box.
  3. In the Description HTML editor, enter a description for the group (if desired).
  4. Click on the Save button. The additional group is created.

Manually Enrolling Students in Groups

After the groups have been created the instructor may begin to enroll students.

  1. In the desired category's context menu, click the Enroll Users option.
  2. From the "Display" drop-down menu, select the desired groups to be available.
    WorkingWithGroups enroll users
  3. From the "Per Page" drop-down menu, select the number of students to be displayed per page.
  4. In the column for the group, select the students to be added. A checkmark will appear to indicate that they have been added.
  5. Click on the Save button. The page will redirect back to the Manage Groups page.

Editing Groups or Group Categories

Once a group or category has been created, the instructor can still make changes. D2L allows the instructor to edit the details of groups or categories, as well as change which students are enrolled in them.

Editing Groups or Categories: Details

  1. Access the Manage Groups page.
  2. From the "View Categories" drop-down menu select the desired category. The category and groups will display below the drop-down menu.
    WorkingWithGroups email delete
  3. Click the category or group name whose details you wish to change. The Edit Group or Edit Category page appears.
  4. Make the desired changes then click on the Save button. The Manage Groups page reappears.

Changing Group Enrollment

  1. Access the Manage Groups pane.
  2. For the desired category click on the Enroll Users option from the context menu. The Enroll Users pane appears.
  3. Select or deselect users for each group as appropriate then click on the Save button. The Manage Groups pane reappears.

Deleting Groups or Group Categories

Instructors can easily delete groups from their course if they have no further need of them.

Deleting Categories and Groups

  1. Access the Manage Groups pane.
  2. From the View Categories pull-down list select the group category that contains the category or the group to be deleted. The category and its corresponding groups are displayed.
  3. Select the group or category by checking the checkbox next to its name.
  4. Click on the Delete button. A confirmation pane appears.
  5. Click on the Delete Groups/Categories button. The category and all its groups or the individual groups are deleted.

Releasing Content to Specific Groups

Instructors can release course content to a specified group. For example, each group in a class could be working on a different case study. Instructors can post the case studies in the Content area of the course and release them based on group membership.

Setting Release Conditions

  1. From the Course Home page click on the Content button in the navigation bar under the Course Elements drop-down menu. The Content page appears.
  2. For the appropriate topic or module click on the Edit Properties In-place button in the context menu next to the topic or module name. The Edit Topic or Edit Module properties appear on screen.
  3. Click the Add dates and Restrictions… link
    WorkingWithGroups another module
  4. Click on the Create button. The Create a New Release Condition dialog box appears.
    WorkingWithGroups 10.3 sample pdf 1
  5. From the Select Condition Type drop-down menu select Group Enrollment. The dialog box refreshes.
    WorkingWithGroups create a release
  6. From the Group drop-down menu select the desired group.
  7. Click on the Create button. You’ll return to the Edit Properties In-place view for the module or topic.
  8. Click on the Update button. In the Content area, topics with release conditions bear the following icon.

Removing Release Conditions

  1. From the Course Home page click on the Content button in the navigation bar under the Course Elements drop-down menu. The Content page appears.
  2. For the appropriate module or topic click on the Edit Properties In-place button from the context menu. The Edit Topic or Edit Module properties appear on screen.
  3. Click the Release Conditions information.
    WorkingWithGroups 10.3 sample pdf 2
  4. To remove a single release condition for the appropriate condition, click on the X icon next to the release condition.
    WorkingWithGroups release conditions
  5. To remove all release conditions click on the Remove All Conditions icon.
  6. Click on the Update button. The release condition is removed.