Office of the President


Dr. George F. “Jody” Harpster Jr. is the sixteenth president of Shippensburg University. He previously served two terms as interim president of the university.

A native of Tyrone, Pa., Dr. Harpster earned his bachelor's degree in psychology from Juniata College in 1972, his master's degree in counseling and college student personnel administration from Shippensburg in 1974, and his Ph.D. in adult and higher education with emphasis on organizational development and small group studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1984.

Dr. Harpster rejoined Shippensburg in 1995 as vice president for student affairs, a post he held for ten years before being named interim president. He was later named executive vice president and then executive vice president for external affairs and university relations.

Dr. Harpster is active in professional organizations including the American College Personnel Association, Council for Advancement and Support of Education, CUPRAP: The Association of Communicators in Education, and the National Association of College and University Business Officers. He also is a member of numerous honor societies including Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society.

He is active in the community, and is a member of organizations including Franklin County Women-In-Need Capital Campaign Steering Committee, Franklin County Friends of Legal Services Fundraising Committee, South-central Pennsylvania Regional Action Plan Steering Committee, Harrisburg Area Transportation Study Group Technical Committee, Shippensburg Public Library Capital Campaign Steering Committee, Shippensburg Area Small Business Development Center Organizing Group, and Boy Scouts of America Frontier District Leadership Council.

Dr. Harpster has been recognized for his many achievements with numerous awards including the Shippensburg University Multicultural Student Affairs Recognizing the Effort Award, Shippensburg Area Chamber of Commerce Common Ground Award, Shippensburg University Martin Luther King Dream Award, Tyrone Area High School Distinguished Alumnus Award, Shippensburg University Outstanding Administrator of the Year Award, and the American College Personnel Association Outstanding State Division Leader Award.

  • Dr. G. F. "Jody" Harpster, President
  • Mr. Lance Bryson, Associate Vice President, Facilities Planning and Maintenance
  • Mr. John E. Clinton, President and CEO, Shippensburg University Foundation
  • Dr. Amy Diehl, Director, Systems and Applications, Technology and Library Services
  • Dr. Tim M. Ebersole, Executive Director, Alumni Affairs and Government Relations
  • Ms. Mindy D. Fawks, Associate Vice President, Administration and Finance
  • Dr. Brendan P. Finucane, President, SU APSCUF
  • Dr. Leslie Folmer Clinton, Associate Vice President, External Affairs, University Relations and Marketing, and Director, H. Ric Luhrs Performing Arts Center
  • Dr. Peter M. Gigliotti, Executive Director, Communications and Marketing
  • Mr. Dominic Giovanniello, President, Student Senate
  • Ms. Cytha D. Grissom, Director of Public Safety
  • Dr. Liz A. Fisher, Chair, University Forum
  • Mr. Cecil Howard, Director of Social Equity
  • Dr. James R. Johnson, Dean, College of Education and Human Services
  • Dr. John G. Kooti, Dean, John L. Grove College of Business
  • Dr. David L. Lovett, Associate Vice President, Student Affairs, and Dean of Students
  • Dr. Barbara G. Lyman, Provost and Executive Vice President
  • Dr. Dennis H. Mathes, Associate Vice President, Technology and Library Services, and Dean of Library and Academic Technology Support Services
  • Ms. Robin M. Maun, Executive Assistant to the President
  • Mr. Jeffrey A. Michaels, Director of Athletics
  • Dr. James H. Mike, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Mr. Mark E. Pilgrim, Director, Institutional Planning and Research
  • Dr. Rick E. Ruth, Vice President, Technology and Library Services
  • Dr. Christina M. Sax, Associate Provost and Dean of Academic Outreach and Innovation
  • Dr. Tracy Schoolcraft, Associate Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
  • Dr. Roger L. Serr, Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Mr. Bill Sommers, Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management
  • Dr. Sarah Stokely, Dean, Academic Engagement and Student Support
  • Dr. David A. Topper, Associate Vice President, Administration and Finance
  • Mr. William Washabaugh, Acting Dean of Admissions
  • Mr. Roy Wiser, President, SU AFSCME
  • Mr. Christopher Wonders, Director, Institute for Public Service and Sponsored Programs

Meeting Minutes

Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive
Shippensburg, PA 17257

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


The President
Office of the President