Faculty Professional Development Council (FPDC)

The FPDC program by PASSHE is running in 2020-2021. Shippensburg CFEST will also be awarding several grants. 2020-2021 FPDC Grant Program RFP , evaluation rubric.
Submit electronic application (PDF format) via InfoReady.

Purpose:  The Shippensburg University Center for Faculty Excellence in Scholarship and Teaching (CFEST) funds projects that will contribute to the faculty member's professional development and strongly favors projects which are likely to result in significant development of the applicant’s research and/or teaching capabilities. SU CFEST will award approximately $10,000. 

Subcategories: See RFP for full details
     1.  Research (including joint faculty-student research)
     2.  Joint Faculty-Student Public Service
     3.  Creative and Performing Arts
     4.  Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
     5.  Individual Career Enhancement in Off-Site Settings (including completion of advanced degree)
     6.  Development of an Extramural Grant Proposal 

Eligibility: All tenured and tenure-track faculty. Only one FPDC grant will be awarded per person per fiscal year.

Time frame for Activity: May 1, 2021 to October 31, 2022

Expectations of Awardees:  Final reports on the outcome of the project are due within 30 days of completion of project.  Funds must be expended in a timely manner to meet purchasing and travel funding deadlines.

Important Deadlines:
Deadline for submitting applications for the FPDC grant program | January 25, 2021

Proposal Format: All proposals submitted must follow the guidelines of the PASSHE-FPDC Annual Grants Program RFP. If required, contact the co-chairs of the SU Committee on Research on Human Subjects (Dr. Michael Lyman x1267 and Dr. Sara Grove x1666) and/or the Animal Care Committee (Dr. Kathryn Potoczak, x1372) for letters of compliance.

Questions: Contact Paul Taylor (CFESTGrants@ship.edu, x1705) or Chris Wonders (cawonders@ship.edu, x1251) 

FPDC PASSHE 2018-2019 Award Winners:

Corrine Bertram (Psychology)
Christopher Woltemade (Geography Earth Science)
Curtis Zaleski (Chemistry)

FPDC Shippensburg University CFEST 2018-2019 Award Recipients: 
Joseph Zume (Geography & Earth Science)
Ahmed Rashed (Physics)