Skip to main content
Jump to Footer

Awards in Psychology


Merit Award
William H. Mackaness Psychology Award
Psi Chi Honor Society

Dr. Potoczak, Catherine Gayman (Mackaness), Dr. Morin, and Barbara Banz (Merit)

Dr. Potoczak, Catherine Gayman (Mackaness), Dr. Morin, and Barbara Banz (Merit)


Merit Award: 

The faculty in the Psychology Department chooses the junior or senior psychology major who has made a significant contribution in service to the department during his or her time at Shippensburg University. Typically students who are nominated for this award are individuals who were very actively involved in the department. Individuals who have received this award in the past have served as officers in Psychology Club and/or Psi Chi, and were peer-trainers or tutors, worked on department projects with faculty members, etc. There are many ways (not included in the previous list) that the past award recipients contributed to the department.

  • 2002 - 2003: Meagan Bett
  • 2003 - 2004: Sara Eitzen
  • 2004 - 2005: Casey Murray
  • 2005 - 2006: Stephanie Ficiak
  • 2006 - 2007: Sarah George
  • 2007 - 2008: Barbara Banz
  • 2018 - 2019: Kaitlyn Andrews
  • 2019 - 2020: Bryanna Nunnally
  • 2020 - 2021: Tonji Bell

William H. Mackaness Psychology Award: 


This award is presented to the graduating senior in psychology with the highest overall grade point average at Shippensburg University. This award is in memory of Dr. William H. Mackaness, a member of the department who died on November 20, 1974. This award was developed by the faculty in memory of Dr. Mackaness because of his motivation of students to excel in scholarly activities.

  • 2002 - 2003: Alyson Smith
  • 2003 - 2004: Kelly Stewart
  • 2004 - 2005: Jessica Petroskie
  • 2005 - 2006: Ross Rogers
  • 2006 - 2007: Michael Ent
  • 2007 - 2008: Catherine Gayman
  • 2018 - 2019: Kaitlyn Andrews
  • 2019 - 2020: Thomas Fisher
  • 2020 - 2021: Brianna Miley



Psi Chi Psychology Honor Society:


This is the National Honor Society in Psychology founded in 1929 for the purpose of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining scholarship in and advancing the science of psychology. Membership is open to graduate and undergraduate students who are making the study of psychology one of their major interests and who meet the minimum qualifications:

  • Completion of 12 semester hours of psychology 
  • Enrolled as a major or minor in psychology 
  • Undergraduates who have a G.P.A. of at least 3.0 overall and a psych G.P.A. of at least 3.2
  • Graduate students who have an average of "B" or better in all graduate courses including psychology
  • High standards of personal behavior and scholarship 

Candidates will be notified when they meet these criteria.

Contact the Department of Psychology Franklin Science Center 114 1871 Old Main Drive, Shippensburg, PA 17257 Phone: 717-477-1657