Skip to main content
Jump to Footer

Protection of Minors on Campus

Shippensburg University and all of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education remain committed to ensuring that our campuses are safe places for learning, living, and working; you play an important role in that effort. Recent laws passed by the Pennsylvania legislature and a policy passed by the Board of Governors further enhance that commitment in the following ways that involve you, as an employee:

Protection of Minors on Campus

In a situation of suspected child abuse involving individuals under the age of 18, all employees are considered “mandated reporters”.

If there is a situation of suspected child abuse you must immediately make an oral report to Pennsylvania’s Department of Human Services (DHS)—formerly named the Department of Public Welfare—by calling 1-800-932-0313. If an oral report is made, a written report must be made within 48 hours to DHS or the Cumberland County Department of Children and Youth Services at 717-240-6120. Immediately following the report to DHS, you must notify the Head of Student Affairs—the designated person in charge here at the University who will assume responsibility for facilitating the institution’s cooperation with the investigation of the report.

Arrest and Conviction Disclosure

Related to the protection of minors on campus, all current employees are required to report to the University if they have been arrested or convicted of crimes enumerated in the Child Protective Services Law, 23 Pa.C.S. §6344(c). Beginning December 31, 2014, you must contact our human resources office if you have been 1) arrested for or convicted of a reportable offense or if you have been 2) founded or indicated as a perpetrator in a report of child abuse. You must provide such written notice within 72 hours of the arrest, conviction, or notification that you have been listed as a perpetrator in the statewide database. We have been advised that failure to make a written notification as required by law could be a misdemeanor of the third degree and could subject you to disciplinary action up to and including termination.

Contact the Human Resources Office Old Main 109 Phone: 717-477-1124 Fax: (717) 477-4037
Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.