Skip to main content
Jump to Footer

Jesse S. Heiges Distinguished Alumnus Award 2006

2006 award

Interim President, Jody Harpster with Christopher Pruitt, '84

Three individuals are recipients of the 2006 Jesse S. Heiges Distinguished Alumnus Award from Shippensburg University. They are Thomas Jackson ’58, Dr. Alfreda Askew Johnson ’64, and Christopher Pruitt ‘84.

Christopher Pruitt is a College of Business graduate with a BSBA in Accounting.

For a decade following his graduation, Pruitt was with the accounting firm of Ernst & Young where he worked in the audit department and was in charge of the office of college recruiting. When he left in May 1994, he was a senior manager. Pruitt joined East Penn Manufacturing Company, the largest privately held battery manufacturer in the world, that same month as a controller. Later that year he was promoted to vice president of finance and is now executive vice president of sales, finance and administration.

He is active on several boards including the university’s College of Business Advisory Board, the United Way of Berks County, the Reading Area Community College Foundation and the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Thanks to FACT for this information. More about these awards can be found in the June 2006 issue of FACT.