Press Releases

Shippensburg University to Ignite New SPARK@SHIP Program

Regional high school juniors and seniors enrolled in honors courses will have a new opportunity to showcase their talents for a chance to win scholarships and cash prizes during SPARK@SHIP. Ship Promotes Academic Research and Knowledge (SPARK) is a new event that will be held on the campus of Shippensburg University, Shippensburg, Pennsylvania on Wednesday, October 19, 2022.

SPARK@SHIP is a collaborative program between the university’s departments of Psychology, Political Science, and History. The purpose is to encourage students who have a research interest in Psychology, Political Science, and History and Philosophy to present their ideas and earn scholarships. Students are encouraged to develop and submit a research proposal around the theme “Social media and its cumulative and globalized impact in a post-pandemic world.” Each discipline will offer a unique and campus experience utilizing this theme.

Students submitting proposals will be invited to campus to present their research topic on October 19. The university will award $3,600 in cash and scholarships during this inaugural event to the top three winners. The link to submit research proposals will open at on September 1, 2022. Deadline for proposals is October 7, 2022.

In addition to the competition, SPARK@SHIP participants will engage with their department of interest to discuss Ship’s many “hands-on” opportunities including internships and to engage in meaningful discussions with faculty and current students. There is no entry fee or cost for students to attend. Complimentary lunch will be provided.

The SPARK competition is open to juniors and seniors from public, private or home schools, who are enrolled in Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, or Honors courses. Honors students not submitting projects are still welcome to attend the event. Space will be limited across the three academic disciplines; students are encouraged to register early to ensure their place in the competition.

Shippensburg Faculty Co-Chairs for this event are Dr. David Godshalk, Professor and Chair of History; Dr. James Griffith, Professor of Psychology; Dr. Sara Grove, Professor and Chair of Political Science; and Dr. Suzanne Morin, Professor and Chair of Psychology. For additional information visit or email