Teacher's Desk View Of Classroom
Bookshelf Within Little Red Schoolhouse
Dorothy Heisey Mains Commemorative Plaque
Welcome To The Little Red Schoolhouse
Built in 1865, the Mount Jackson School or Little Red Schoolhouse contains rich historical ephemera of the late-19th through mid-20th centuries. The building preserves the history of early teacher education and one-room schoolhouses in the Cumberland Valley.
Today, the Little Red Schoolhouse provides a unique experience for Shippensburg University and the surrounding community, as one of the growing number of historical attractions in the area. Students, faculty, staff and alumni are currently working to enhance The Little Red Schoolhouse Historic Site and provide educational programming of various eras in which the schoolhouse was active (1865-1953). Programming is being developed through an innovative partnership between the Teacher Education and History/Philosophy departments.
Preserving and Exploring the Proud Tradition of the One-Room Schoolhouse!
Check Out This Wonderful Video On The Little Red Schoolhouse
Created in partnership with the Communications/Marketing and History/Philosophy Departments